## **Traffic Violation?**

# Piatt County Traffic Safety Program

Registration Form parkland.edu/tsp | 217/353-2104

### 1 AM I ELIGIBLE?

Please answer the following questions:

- In the 12 months preceding the date of this ticket, have you been convicted of any moving violation in Illinois?
   Yes
   No
- 2. In the four years preceding the date of this ticket, have you taken the four-hour Defensive Driving class or have you been on court supervision in Illinois? ☐ Yes ☐ No
- Did you receive a ticket for speeding 21 or more miles over the speed limit? ☐ Yes ☐ No
- Was your ticket marked with "Court Appearance Required?" ☐ Yes ☐ No
- Do you have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL)? ☐ Yes ☐ No

If you answered YES to any of the questions above, you are NOT eligible for the program. Call us!

### 2 WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS?

Unless otherwise specified, when charged with a minor traffic violation you have three options:

- Plead guilty and pay the fine, by mail or in person, without going to court. A conviction will be entered on your driving record.
- 2. Plead not guilty and request a trial. For options 1 and 2, follow the directions on your traffic ticket.
- Request the Traffic Safety Program. You do not have to appear in court and a conviction is not entered on your driving record if you complete the program. Eligibility



requirements apply. For option 3, carefully read this brochure in its entirety and follow the registration instructions in section 7.

### **3** HOW DOES THE PROGRAM WORK?

To successfully complete the program, you must:

- Participate in a four-hour National Safety Council Defensive Driving course no later than 120 days from the date the plea of guilty is recorded at the court.
- Obey all traffic laws and avoid any further convictions during court supervision, which begins the date your plea of guilty is recorded at the court and continues for 180 days.
- You must complete the program, and you must not violate traffic laws during court supervision, or a conviction will be entered against you and reported to the Secretary of State to be included on your driving record. Your program fee will be forfeited.

### 4 HOW MUCH DOES THE PROGRAM COST?

The Traffic Safety Program costs \$49 if you register for the instructor-led, classroom program at Parkland College. The online program costs \$69. If you choose an alternate location, fees and costs may apply.

### 5 WHERE CAN I TAKE MY COURSE?

- Parkland College (instructor-led): No additional fee.
   Follow the registration instructions in section 7.
- 2. Parkland College (online program): Only available for drivers age 25 or older at the time of violation. Follow registration instructions in section 7 and check the "Parkland College Online Program" option under "Location and Scheduling." Once your registration is received and processed by the court, you will receive an email from Parkland College with directions accessing the course. If you choose option 1 or 2, Parkland College will notify the court of your course completion and will present you with a certificate of completion for your personal records.
- 3. Alternate Location: Available at limited locations only. Additional fees apply. Follow the registration instructions and check the "Alternate Location" option under "Location and Scheduling." You will receive further details and instructions by mail from Parkland College. You are responsible for locating and contacting an approved alternate training site, completing an additional registration with that site, and submitting a National Safety Council certificate of completion to the circuit court within 120 days of your plea of guilty.

### 6

#### WHEN IS MY DEADLINE TO REGISTER?

Submitting your request to the Traffic Safety Program is time-sensitive. You must first wait 10 days after receiving your violation. After 10 days have passed, the deadline to deliver your materials to the court is three days prior to your court appearance date (noted on the bottom half of the front side of the ticket in the "Court Place/Date" section).

### 7

#### **REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS**

Please be sure to read sections 1-6 first before registering!

- Sign the "Appearance, Plea of Guilty, and Waiver" portion of your traffic ticket.
- Complete the "Traffic Safety Program Registration" portion of this form.
- Complete and sign the "Plea of Guilty and Application for Court Supervision" portion of this form.
- Submit your traffic ticket and this registration form, along with the fine indicated on your ticket and the non-refundable fee to: Circuit Clerk, Piatt County, P.O. Box 288, Monticello, IL 61856.
- The Circuit Clerk will forward your registration form to the Parkland College Traffic Safety Program office. You will be notified by mail and email of your class assignment approximately two weeks prior to the class date.
- 6. If you need to change your class assignment, you must notify the Traffic Safety Program office, 217/353-2104, no later than 48 hours prior to the class start time. You will receive a new class assignment upon payment of a \$12 rescheduling fee.

If you fail to appear or if you are late for an assigned class, you must pay an additional fee and request another class to complete the Traffic Safety Program.

Remember to return the signed copy of your ticket with this form.

For more FAQs, please visit parkland.edu/tsp.

### TRAFFIC SAFETY PROGRAM REGISTRATION Complete all fields in ink and print clearly. Name First Middle **Current Mailing Address** 7IP Code Street/Apartment/Unit# City **Daytime Phone** Evening Phone Driver's License # State Date of Birth Email Course Requirement: Answer the following questions to determine which course you must take. 1. Were you under the age of 18 at the time of the violation? ☐ **YES**—STOP. You *must* appear in court with a parent or guardian and request supervision before registering. ■ **NO**—Proceed to question 2. 2. Were you under the age of 25 at the time of the violation? ☐ **YES**—You *must* register for the instructor-led program, and appear in person (\$49). □ **NO**—You may register for the classroom program (\$49), or you may register for the online program (\$69). Location and Scheduling: Please select the location at which you would like to attend the course. ☐ Parkland College Classroom: The \$49 classes are held at Parkland College Community Education, 1315 North Mattis Avenue, Champaign, Illinois. Please rank the following day/time options in order of preference from 1 (first) to 3 (last). Preferences are not guaranteed. \_\_\_\_ Tuesday 6–10 PM \_\_\_\_ Saturday 8 AM-noon \_\_\_\_ Saturday 1–5 PM ☐ Parkland College Online Program: \$69 ☐ Alternate Location: Available at limited locations only. Additional fees apply. You will receive further details and instructions by mail from Parkland College. Scheduling Conflicts and Notes: Please note specific dates or routine days/times you are unavailable: If you have a question about your class or if you require accessibility or language assistance, contact the Parkland

College Traffic Safety Program office at 217/353-2104.

If you have a question about your ticket, contact the Piatt County Circuit Clerk at 217/762-4966.

### PLEA OF "GUILTY" AND APPLICATION FOR **COURT SUPERVISION**

Fill out this form COMPLETELY. Please use ink. Make sure the information is accurate. Failure to return this completed form could result in conviction.

#### State of Illinois

By signing this statement, I swear, or affirm, the following to be true:

- 1. In the 12 months preceding the date of this ticket, I have NOT been convicted with any moving violation anywhere
- 2. In the four years preceding the date of this ticket, I have NOT taken a four-hour defensive driving class or been on court supervision anywhere in Illinois.
- 3. I did NOT receive a ticket for speeding 21 or more miles per hour over the speed limit.
- 4. My ticket was not marked with "Court Appearance Required."
- 5. I further understand that I DO PLEAD GUILTY to the charges on this ticket, WAIVE my right to a hearing by the court, and REQUEST court supervision.
- 6. I AGREE to pay the non-refundable Traffic Safety Program fee plus the fine indicated on the ticket. I understand that taking the class at another location will require an additional fee.

I understand my driving record can be checked. If it indicates that I have been convicted of a traffic offense that resulted in any of the possibilities in numbers 1 and 2 above, MY PLEA OF GUILTY WILL BE ACCEPTED AND A CONVICTION WILL BE ENTERED AGAINST ME AND REPORTED TO THE SECRETARY OF STATE TO BE INCLUDED ON MY DRIVING RECORD.

I further understand, if I make an application for the Traffic Safety Program and I am not eligible, OR I fail to complete the Traffic Safety Program in a timely manner, OR I receive another traffic conviction within my court supervision period, OR I fail to pay the appropriate fine and fee, THAT CONVICTION WILL BE ENTERED AGAINST ME AND REPORTED TO THE SECRE-TARY OF STATE TO BE INCLUDED ON MY DRIVING RECORD.

Sign here:	
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	

Case number:		
Comment:		